How Many Traffic Commissioners Are There in the UK?

The efficient and safe operation of commercial vehicles and passenger transport services in the UK is overseen by Traffic Commissioners. These regulatory authorities play a vital role in licensing operators, ensuring compliance with legislation, and promoting fair competition within the transport industry. In this article, we will explore the structure of the Traffic Commissioners’ office and shed light on the number of commissioners responsible for maintaining transport standards across the UK.

The Role of Traffic Commissioners

Traffic Commissioners are appointed by the Secretary of State for Transport and are independent public officials. They operate under the Office of the Traffic Commissioner, which is responsible for licensing and regulating the activities of goods vehicle operators, bus and coach operators, and the registration of local bus services.

The Traffic Commissioners’ key responsibilities include:

  1. Licensing: Traffic Commissioners issue and regulate licenses for goods vehicle operators and bus and coach operators. These licenses ensure compliance with legal requirements, including vehicle maintenance, driver hours, and road safety.
  2. Regulatory Compliance: Traffic Commissioners enforce compliance with legislation governing the operation of commercial vehicles, ensuring fair competition and maintaining high standards of service, safety, and environmental impact.
  3. Hearings and Decisions: Traffic Commissioners hold public inquiries and hearings to address operator non-compliance, assess fitness and professional competence, and make decisions regarding licenses and disciplinary actions.

Number of Traffic Commissioners

In the UK, there are currently eight Traffic Commissioners who oversee different geographic regions:

  1. North East Traffic Commissioner: Responsible for the North East of England, including Newcastle, Durham, and surrounding areas.
  2. North West Traffic Commissioner: Covers the North West region, including Manchester, Liverpool, and surrounding areas.
  3. West Midlands Traffic Commissioner: Oversees the West Midlands region, including Birmingham, Wolverhampton, and surrounding areas.
  4. East Midlands Traffic Commissioner: Responsible for the East Midlands region, including Nottingham, Derby, and surrounding areas.
  5. London and the South East Traffic Commissioner: Covers London and the South East of England, including Greater London, Kent, and surrounding areas.
  6. Eastern Traffic Commissioner: Oversees the Eastern region, including Norfolk, Suffolk, and surrounding areas.
  7. South Eastern and Metropolitan Traffic Commissioner: Responsible for the South East and Metropolitan region, including Surrey, Sussex, and surrounding areas.
  8. Wales Traffic Commissioner: Covers the whole of Wales.


Traffic Commissioners play a vital role in ensuring the safe and efficient operation of commercial vehicles and passenger transport services in the UK. With a total of eight commissioners overseeing specific regions, they are responsible for licensing, regulatory compliance, and making decisions regarding operator licenses and disciplinary actions. The Traffic Commissioners’ office works diligently to maintain high standards within the transport industry and promote fair competition, ultimately contributing to the safety and reliability of transportation services across the UK.

If you are looking for online logistics training, please see the courses offered by NTP Online Learning.

Never miss an article

Subscribe to the talking transport blog now!

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team and our blog. We'll alert you whenever a new article is published.

You're in! we'll alert you when a new article is published and keep you up-to-date with our latest news and offers. 

Share This Post